條碼驗證

驗證與條碼品質管理的比較

瞭解流程控制指標,資料確效和驗證之間的差異

許多製造廠商早已使用流程控制指標 (PCM) 監視其條碼的品質,並使用讀碼器上的軟體驗證條碼資料有效。雖然向正確的方向邁出一步,但這不是真的驗證,且可能導致沿著供應鏈的製造廠商處於未受保護的狀態。當製造廠商使用 PCM 或驗證而條碼有時在一段時間後還是無法讀取時,驗證器可提供額外的保障及再次保證。

資料確效

有時,條碼印製良好但還是遭到退回,這是因為格式不正確。確效會依照產業要求,檢查資料格式是否正確,讓接收條碼資料的電腦系統可解譯條碼的資料。確效只會檢查條碼內的資料格式,不會檢查列印品質。而條碼驗證會測量圖像相關和資料相關的品質參數,將條碼的可讀性分級。

流程控制指標

讀碼器視其軟體而定,可能會提供對流程控制和改善有用的列印品質指標。這些指標可協助製造廠商列印符合其獨特列印品質需求的條碼,並預測一般讀碼器是否能成功讀取其條碼。不過,在供應鏈各個環節中,符號遇到的讀碼器類别差別很大。事實上,許多讀碼器都包括有解碼演算法,這是專為讀取變形,有挑戰性的,及難以讀取的條碼而設計的。品質控管測試或掃瞄器的流程控制指標,都無法可靠地判斷兩台不同的讀碼器會如何處理同一條碼 - 只有條碼驗證才能辦到。

驗證

相對地,條碼驗證器可確認條碼是否能由所有的讀碼器讀取。不同於 PCM 或資料確效,驗證器會檢查所有的品質參數,使用特定光源設定,且需定期校準。

選擇條碼品質管理方法

資料確效 流程控制 驗證
  • 檢查已編碼的資料是否符合指定的格式標準
  • 只與條碼內的資料有關...
  • ...與標識的品質無關
  • 在生產線上控制條碼品質
  • 對與驗證器相同的一組參數分級,但會犧牲校準和光源位置
  • 合約符合全球標準的分級
  • 需校準和精準定位光源元素
使用時機
  • 需資料格式標準檢查 (如 MIL-STD-130,GS1)
  • 藉由預警控制標識過程
  • 確保下游可讀性
  • 促進讀碼器設定最佳化
  • 依法需要或明文強制時
  • 當 PCM「標示」條碼時提供診斷
  • 當需簡化與貿易夥伴之間的通訊時
相關內容

欲獲悉有關康耐視產品的詳細訊息:

康耐視特色產品

取得產品支援與訓練等等

加入 MyCognex

是否有任何疑问?

世界各地的康耐视代表可以随时为您提供支持,满足您的视觉和工业读码需求。

聯絡我們
Loading...

• Call Cognex Sales: 855-4-COGNEX (855-426-4639)

  • Contact Us
Intro to Barcode Verification Banner

Barcode Verification

Verification vs. Code Quality Management

cognex verifier 8072 on stand

Understand the differences between process control metrics, data validation, and verification

Many producers already monitor the quality of their barcodes using process control metrics (PCM) and validate their data using software on their barcode readers. Though a step in the right direction, this is not true verification and can leave producers unprotected down the supply chain. For producers using PCM or validation whose codes are still sometimes unreadable down the line, a verifier can provide additional protection and reassurance.

Data Validation

Barcodes are sometimes printed well but rejected because they are not formatted correctly. Validation checks that data is formatted correctly in accordance with industry requirements, so that a computer system receiving the barcode data can interpret it. Validation looks only at the format of the data within a code and does not check print quality. By contrast, barcode verification measures both image-related and data-related quality parameters to grade a code’s readability.

Process Control Metrics

Barcode readers may, depending on their software, provide print quality metrics useful for process control and improvement. These metrics help producers print codes that meet their unique print quality needs and anticipate whether a generic reader will be able to successfully read their codes. But the types of barcode readers a symbol encounters along the supply chain vary widely. In fact, many barcode readers include decoding algorithms designed specifically to read deformed, challenging, and hard-to-read codes. Neither quality control testing nor a scanner’s process control metrics can reliably gauge how two different barcode readers will handle the same code—only barcode verification can.

Verification

Barcode verifiers, by contrast, confirm that barcodes can be read by all barcode readers. Unlike PCM or data validation, a verifier checks all quality parameters, uses a specific lighting set-up, and requires regular calibration.

Choosing Between Code Quality Management Methods

Data Validation Process Control Verification
  • Checks encoded data to a specified formatting standard
  • Is concerned with only the data within the code...
  • ...not the quality of the mark
  • In-line control of code quality
  • Grades the same set of parameters as a verifier but sacrifices calibration and lighting positions
  • Contract compliant grading to a global standard
  • Requires calibration and accurate positioning of lighting elements
When used
  • Required data formatting standards check (e.g. MIL-STD-130, GS1)
  • Control the marking process with early warnings
  • Ensure downstream readability
  • Facilitate optimized reader setup
  • When required or mandated by law
  • Provide diagnostics when PCM 'flags' a code
  • When needed to facilitate communication with trading partners
Related Content

For more information on Cognex Products:

Featured Cognex Products

GET ACCESS TO SUPPORT & TRAINING FOR PRODUCTS & MORE

Join MyCognex

HAVE ANY QUESTIONS?

Cognex representatives are available worldwide to support your vision and industrial barcode reading needs.

Contact Us