• Cognex Vertrieb: +49-721-958-8052

  • Kontakt

Barcode-Symbologie

UPC-E Barcodes

Zugehörige Produkte

Machine Vision

Manufacturers can speed production, minimize defects and reduce costs with machine vision technologies

DataMan 360

Barcode-Lesegeräte

Bildbasierte Barcode-Lesegeräte lesen 1D- und 2D-Codes schnell und zuverlässig.

Der UPC-E Barcode ist ein Universeller Produktcode (UPC), der der gebräuchlichste Barcode in den USA ist. Der UPC-E ist die komprimierte Variante des numerischen Standard-UPC-A-Barcodes, der in Lebensmittelgeschäften und anderen Einzelhandelsgeschäften im ganzen Land eingesetzt wird. Die komprimierte Variante wird auf kleineren Produkten verwendet, auf deren Verpackung kein Platz für den originalgroßen UPC-A-Code ist.

> Ein individuelles Angebot für ein Barcode-Lesegerät anfordern  

Spezifikationen: Ein UPC-E Barcode ist halb so groß wie ein UPC-A und hat 6 anstatt 12 Stellen. Ansonsten sind die Codes gleich aufgebaut mit einer Stelle am Anfang, die die Art des zu scannenden Produkts angibt (normales Produkt, Coupon gewichteter Artikel, usw.), gefolgt von einem Herstellercode, einem Produktcode und zum Schluss einer Prüfziffer, die die Genauigkeit gewährleistet. Die geringere Größe des UPC-E lässt sich darauf zurückführen, dass er alle zusätzlichen Nullen weglässt, die in der Regel in einem normalgroßen Code vorhanden sind: d.h. die Nullen, die vor dem Produkt-Code und nach den Herstellercode stehen.

Vorteile: Durch seine komprimierte Größe passt er auf kleinere Packungen. Er besitzt auch eine Prüfziffer, die die Genauigkeit bei der manuellen Codeeingabe garantiert.

Nachteile: Es handelt sich um einen numerischen Code, der keine Buchstaben codiert. Zusätzlich begrenzt die feste Länge die Informationsmenge, die codiert werden kann, so dass er sich gut für Supermärkte eignet, aber nicht in Frage kommt, wenn genauere Informationen kommuniziert werden müssen.

Verwandte Barcodes: 

UPC-A - Die normalgroße Variante des Standard-UPC-Barcodes.

EAN-8 - Die europäische Entsprechung des UPC-A und das Gegenstück des normalgroßen EAN-13.

Ihr persönlicher Zugang zu Support & Training für Produkte & Mehr

Join MyCognex

SIE HABEN EINE FRAGE?

Cognex is weltweit vertreten, um Sie bei Ihren Vision- und Barcode-Anwendungen zu unterstützen.

Kontakt

• Call Cognex Sales: 855-4-COGNEX (855-426-4639)

  • Contact Us
Symbologies-banner

Symbologies

UPC-E Barcodes

UPC-E

Related Products

DataMan 50

DataMan 50/60 Series

Premium Cognex barcode reading technology in a compact barcode reader.

DataMan 8050

DataMan 8050 Series

Equipped with Cognex’s world class barcode reading algorithms and designed to withstand harsh factory floor conditions.

The UPC-E barcode is a Universal Product Code, the most widely used barcode in the United States. UPC-E is the condensed version of the standard sized UPC-A numeric barcode, used in grocery stores and other retail establishments across the country. The condensed version is used on smaller products whose packages don't have room to place the full sized UPC-A code.

Get a barcode reader custom quote

Specifications: A UPC-E barcode is half the size of UPC-A, with 6 digits instead of 12. Other than that, the two codes are set up the same way, with a digit at the beginning to designate the type of product being scanned (regular product, coupon, weighted item, etc.) followed by a manufacturer's code, a product code, and, finally, a check digit to ensure accuracy. The reduced size of the UPC-E is because it omits all of the extra zeros that are normally found in a full sized code: i.e., the zeros that come before the product code and after the manufacturer's code.

Advantages: Its condensed size allows it to fit on smaller packages. It also has a check digit, to ensure accuracy when typing a code in by hand.

Disadvantages: It's only a numeric code and cannot encode letters. Additionally, the fixed length limits the amount of information that can be encoded, making it fine for supermarkets, but inadequate for communicating more detailed information.

Related Barcodes:
UPC-A - The full sized version of the standard UPC barcode.
EAN-8 - The European equivalent of the UPC-A, and counterpart to the full sized EAN-13.

GET ACCESS TO SUPPORT & TRAINING FOR PRODUCTS & MORE

Join MyCognex

HAVE ANY QUESTIONS?

Cognex representatives are available worldwide to support your vision and industrial barcode reading needs.

Contact Us