Symbologies

Codes-barres EAN-8

Lecteurs de codes-barres correspondants

Machine Vision

Manufacturers can speed production, minimize defects and reduce costs with machine vision technologies

DataMan 360

Lecteurs de codes-barres

Les lecteurs imageurs de codes lisent les codes 1D et 2D de façon rapide et fiable.

Le code-barres EAN-8 est une version condensée du code-barres EAN-13, l'identifiant standard des produits vendus au détail en Europe et dans d'autres endroits du monde. Bien que EAN signifie European Article Number (numérotation européenne des articles), il a été rebaptisé International Article Number (numéro d'article international). Toutefois, l'abréviation « EAN » est toujours utilisée. Le code EAN-8 (qui compte 8 caractères) est utilisé pour les petits emballages sur lesquels le code EAN-13 (qui compte 13 caractères) ne tiendrait pas.

Demander un devis personnalisé pour un lecteur de code-barres

Caractéristiques techniques : Les 8 caractères du code-barres EAN-8 sont divisés en deux ensembles de quatre caractères chacun. Il possède un préfixe à deux chiffres, qui indique le pays où le code-barres a été délivré. Puis viennent cinq chiffres de données, qui identifient brièvement le produit, suivis enfin d'une clé de contrôle. Comme dans les codes EAN-13 et UPC-A, hormis les caractères numériques, il n'est pas possible d'utiliser de lettres ou d'autres caractères.

Avantages : Le code-barres EAN-8 occupe une petite surface et constitue un code d'identification précis pour des produits tels que des bonbons, cigarettes ou autres articles de petite taille ou emballés individuellement. En outre, la clé de contrôle contribue à assurer l'exactitude du code lors de sa saisie manuelle. Et avec son préfixe, ce code est parfaitement adapté à un usage international, contrairement aux codes UPC qui se limitent aux États-Unis.

Inconvénients : Limiter l'identification du produit à cinq chiffres de données implique une identification du produit moins spécifique que le code EAN-13 qui possède un ensemble de caractères pour identifier le fabricant et un autre pour identifier le produit. Par ailleurs, alors que le préfixe identifie le pays qui a délivré le code-barres, ce pays n'est pas nécessairement celui dans lequel le produit a été fabriqué.

Codes-barres apparentés : 
EAN-13 - Le code-barres standard complet en Europe.
UPC-E - L'équivalent américain du code EAN-8, lui-même une version condensée du code UPC-A.

ACCÉDEZ À L'ASSISTANCE ET À LA FORMATION POUR LES PRODUITS ET PLUS

Rejoignez MyCognex

AVEZ-VOUS DES QUESTIONS ?

Les représentants de chez Cognex sont disponibles dans le monde entier pour soutenir votre vision et vos besoins de lecture de codes-barres industriels.

Contact commercial
Loading...

• Call Cognex Sales: 855-4-COGNEX (855-426-4639)

  • Contact Us
Symbologies-banner

Symbologies

EAN-8 Barcodes

EAN8

Related Products

DataMan 360

DataMan 360 Series

Fixed-mount barcode readers handle difficult-to-read codes with industry-leading performance and versatile product features.

DataMan 8600

DataMan 8600 Series

The rugged DataMan® 8000 series of readers offers the industry’s most advanced technology for reading 1-D and 2-D codes.

The EAN-8 barcode is the condensed version of the EAN-13 barcode, the standard retail product identifier in Europe and other points abroad. Though EAN stands for European Article Number, it was renamed the International Article Number. Even so, the abbreviation "EAN" is still used. EAN-8 (which has 8 digits) is used for smaller sized packages, on which an EAN-13 code (which has 13 digits) will not fit.

Get a barcode reader custom quote

Specifications: EAN-8 barcode's 8 digits are split into two sets of four each. It has two flag digits, which indicate the country where the barcode was issued. Then there are five data digits, which briefly identify the product, followed finally by a check number. Like EAN-13 and UPC-A, no letters or other characters besides numeric ones may be used.

Advantages: The EAN-8 barcode saves space, providing an accurate identifying code for products such as candy, cigarettes, or other small or individually wrapped items. In addition, the check number helps ensure accuracy when entering in the code by hand. And the flag digits make the code ideal for international use, as opposed to UPC codes, which are limited to the United States.

Disadvantages: Limiting the product identification to five data digits means that the product cannot be identified as specifically as the EAN-13, which has one set of digits to identify the manufacturer, and another set to identify the product. Also, while the flag digits can identify the country where the barcode was issued, that may not be the same as where the product itself was manufactured.

Related Barcodes:
EAN-13 - The full sized, standard barcode in Europe.
UPC-E - The American counterpart to EAN-8, itself a condensed version of UPC-A.

GET ACCESS TO SUPPORT & TRAINING FOR PRODUCTS & MORE

Join MyCognex

HAVE ANY QUESTIONS?

Cognex representatives are available worldwide to support your vision and industrial barcode reading needs.

Contact Us