• Cognex Vertrieb: +49-721-958-8052

  • Kontakt

Barcode-Symbologie

EAN-8 Barcodes

Zugehörige Produkte

Machine Vision

Manufacturers can speed production, minimize defects and reduce costs with machine vision technologies

DataMan 360

Barcode-Lesegeräte

Bildbasierte Barcode-Lesegeräte lesen 1D- und 2D-Codes schnell und zuverlässig.

Der EAN-8-Barcode ist die komprimierte Variante des EAN-13-Barcodes, der standardmäßigen Kennzeichnung von Einzelhandelsprodukten in Europa und anderen Ländern. Obwohl EAN für Europäische Artikelnummer steht, wurde er umbenannt in Internationale Artikelnummer. Aber die Abkürzung "EAN " wird weiterhin verwendet. EAN-8 (8-stellig) wird für kleinere Verpackungen verwendet, auf die kein EAN-13-Code (13-stellig) passt.

Ein individuelles Angebot für ein Barcode-Lesegerät anfordern  

Spezifikationen: Die 8 Stellen des EAN-8 Barcodes sind in zwei Gruppen von jeweils vier unterteilt. Er hat zwei Flaggenzeichen, die das Land angeben, in dem der Barcode erstellt wurde. Dann folgen fünf Datenstellen, die das Produkt identifizieren, gefolgt von einer Prüfziffer. Wie der EAN-13 und UPC-A, können nur Zahlen und keine Buchstaben oder andere Zeichen verwendet werden.

Vorteile: Die EAN-8 Barcode spart Platz, bietet einen genauen Identifizierungscode für Produkte wie Süßigkeiten, Zigaretten oder andere kleine oder einzeln verpackte Artikel. Zusätzlich garantiert die Prüfziffer die Genauigkeit bei der manuellen Eingabe des Codes. Und die Flaggenzeichen machen den Code ideal für den internationalen Einsatz, im Gegensatz zu UPC-Codes, die auf die Vereinigten Staaten begrenzt sind.

Nachteile: Die Begrenzung der Produktidentifikation auf fünf Datenstellen bedeutet, dass das Produkt nicht so spezifisch identifiziert werden kann wie mit dem EAN-13, der eine Zahlensatz für die Identifizierung des Herstellers und einen für die Identifizierung des Produktes hat. Obwohl die Flaggenstellen das Land identifizieren, in dem der Barcode erstellt wurde, müssen sie nicht gleich sein wie das Land, in dem das Produkt hergestellt wurde.

Verwandte Barcodes: 

EAN-13 - Der normalgroße Standard-Barcode in Europa.

UPC-E - Das amerikanische Gegenstück zu EAN-8, eine komprimierte Variante des UPC-A.

Ihr persönlicher Zugang zu Support & Training für Produkte & Mehr

Join MyCognex

SIE HABEN EINE FRAGE?

Cognex is weltweit vertreten, um Sie bei Ihren Vision- und Barcode-Anwendungen zu unterstützen.

Kontakt

• Call Cognex Sales: 855-4-COGNEX (855-426-4639)

  • Contact Us
Symbologies-banner

Symbologies

EAN-8 Barcodes

EAN8

Related Products

DataMan 360

DataMan 360 Series

Fixed-mount barcode readers handle difficult-to-read codes with industry-leading performance and versatile product features.

DataMan 8600

DataMan 8600 Series

The rugged DataMan® 8000 series of readers offers the industry’s most advanced technology for reading 1-D and 2-D codes.

The EAN-8 barcode is the condensed version of the EAN-13 barcode, the standard retail product identifier in Europe and other points abroad. Though EAN stands for European Article Number, it was renamed the International Article Number. Even so, the abbreviation "EAN" is still used. EAN-8 (which has 8 digits) is used for smaller sized packages, on which an EAN-13 code (which has 13 digits) will not fit.

Get a barcode reader custom quote

Specifications: EAN-8 barcode's 8 digits are split into two sets of four each. It has two flag digits, which indicate the country where the barcode was issued. Then there are five data digits, which briefly identify the product, followed finally by a check number. Like EAN-13 and UPC-A, no letters or other characters besides numeric ones may be used.

Advantages: The EAN-8 barcode saves space, providing an accurate identifying code for products such as candy, cigarettes, or other small or individually wrapped items. In addition, the check number helps ensure accuracy when entering in the code by hand. And the flag digits make the code ideal for international use, as opposed to UPC codes, which are limited to the United States.

Disadvantages: Limiting the product identification to five data digits means that the product cannot be identified as specifically as the EAN-13, which has one set of digits to identify the manufacturer, and another set to identify the product. Also, while the flag digits can identify the country where the barcode was issued, that may not be the same as where the product itself was manufactured.

Related Barcodes:
EAN-13 - The full sized, standard barcode in Europe.
UPC-E - The American counterpart to EAN-8, itself a condensed version of UPC-A.

GET ACCESS TO SUPPORT & TRAINING FOR PRODUCTS & MORE

Join MyCognex

HAVE ANY QUESTIONS?

Cognex representatives are available worldwide to support your vision and industrial barcode reading needs.

Contact Us