客户案例

視覺工具加速 IMB 郵遞區號條碼閱讀器的發展

FASTechnology Group Patient wristband identification

相關產品

2D Machine Vision Systems Insight 7000 and hand holding In-Sight 9000

In-Sight 視覺系統

精準又可靠地檢測、識別和引導元件

370 barcode reader held by hand

固定式讀碼器

具備視覺的讀碼器不僅簡單易用,而且成本等同於雷射掃描器

新的 Intelligent Mail Barcode(美國郵政智慧型條碼,IMB)萬事具備,並取代美國郵政服務(United States Postal Service,USPS)自動化所用的舊式 POSTNET 和 PLANET 條碼。FASTechnology Group 是高速選擇性裝訂與郵務控制器的領導開發商與供應商,這些控制器用於處理大量郵件,該公司參與檢測系統的開發,該檢測系統必須能驗證 IMB 的品質和遵規性,以協助寄件者避免支付額外的可能費用。FASTech 使用康耐視 In-Sight® 5613,因為這項產品提供功能強大的工具來進行 IMB 驗證及自動控制連線,進而大幅縮減開發時間。因此,FASTverify Postal Verification System 郵政驗證系統成為第一套不僅驗證條碼的可讀性及關鍵度量,還能驗證條碼是否正確的系統。

FASTech 之前提供適用於其他條碼應用的視覺系統。該公司決定不使用相同的視覺系統於新產品,改為要評估幾家主要視覺供應商的產品。FASTech 產品開發部副總裁 Mark Breunig 表示,「我們認為採用康耐視 Cognex In-Sight 視覺系統,可讓我們在最短時間內開發產品,康耐視提供整套的內建 IMB 驗證工具,因此只要使用幾個簡單的指令,就能夠設定視覺系統驗證 IMB 的符合性。康耐視連線工具讓康耐視視覺系統更容易整合到現有的自動控制系統。」

Read ID code(讀 ID 碼)指令可用於掃讀 IMB。此值會與控制器提供的資訊進行比對,以確定所套用的編碼正確,且正確的編碼也會用於建立儲存 IMB 影像的檔名。接下來,使用 Verify ID(驗證 ID)指令產生 IMB 驗證對照表。確保 IMB 是否符合 USPS 要求的所有必要參數都會進行驗證。視覺程式會將每一個數字與 USPS IMB 規格和警告參數進行比較,並判斷該編碼為合格、合格但超出警告限值,或不合格。該編碼的數值會傳遞至使用者介面,再根據控制器資料庫進行檢查,以確定所列印的編碼是否正確無誤。

Breunig 總結提到,「我們在極短的時間內,就能夠開發出應用。我們過去用來開發視覺應用的攝影機和軟體,也可以執行這項工作,但是難度較高,也需要更多時間。康耐視視覺工具幫助我們快速將 IMB 驗證空間中第一個提供多項重要功能的產品推出上市。我們的系統是第一個不僅能夠驗證 IMB 是否符合規格,還能驗證寄件者上的編碼是否正確的產品。FASTverify Postal Verification System 郵政驗證系統也是具備以下功能的領先系統之一:單鍵校正功能,以及能利用完整影像歸檔功能,檢測每天高速選擇性裝訂和共同郵寄系統所產生的每一個郵件。」

Related Customer Stories

康耐視特色產品

取得產品支援與訓練等等

加入 MyCognex

是否有任何疑问?

世界各地的康耐视代表可以随时为您提供支持,满足您的视觉和工业读码需求。

聯絡我們

• Call Cognex Sales: 855-4-COGNEX (855-426-4639)

  • Contact Us

Customer Stories

Vision Tools Speed Development of IMB Postal Barcode Verifier

FASTechnology Group

Related Products

In-Sight 5705

In-Sight Vision Systems

Easy to use, industrial-grade smart cameras with advanced machine vision technology.

Dataman 150/260 Series Optics

Fixed-mount Barcode Readers

Vision-enabled barcode readers with the ease-of-use and cost of laser scanners

The new Intelligent Mail Barcode (IMB) has all but replaced the old POSTNET and PLANET barcodes used in United States Postal Service (USPS) automation. FASTechnology Group, already the leading developer and supplier of high-speed selective binding and mailing controllers used to address large mailings, anticipated the need for an inspection system that would validate the quality and conformity of IMBs to help mailers avoid potential additional charges. FASTech used the Cognex In-Sight® 5613 because it provides powerful tools for IMB verification and automation control connectivity that greatly reduced development time. As a result, the FASTverify Postal Verification System is the first system that not only verifies the readability and critical metrics of the bar code but also verifies that it is the right barcode.

FASTech previously offered vision systems for other barcode-based applications. Instead of simply using the same vision systems in the new product, the company decided to evaluate products from the leading vision suppliers. “We determined that we could develop our product in substantially less time using Cognex In-Sight vision systems,” said Mark Breunig, VP Product Development for FASTech. “Cognex offers a full set of built-in IMB verification tools that make it possible to program the vision system to verify IMB compliance with just a few simple commands. Cognex connectivity tools make it easier to integrate Cognex vision systems into existing automation control systems.”

The Read ID code command is used to read the IMB. The value is matched against information provided by the controller to make sure the correct code has been applied and is also used to create the file name used to store the IMB image. Next, the Verify ID command is used to generate the IMB verification metrics. All of the parameters needed to ensure the IMB meets USPS requirements are verified. The vision program compares each of these figures to the USPS IMB specifications and warning parameters and determines if the code passes, passes but exceeds warning limits, or fails. The value of the code is passed to the user interface which checks it against the controller database to ensure that the right code has been printed.

We were able to develop the application in a remarkably short period of time,” Breunig concluded. “The cameras and software that we have used in the past to develop vision applications could have done this job but it would have been more difficult and taken considerably more time. Cognex vision tools helped us quickly bring a product to market that is the first in the IMB verification space to offer a number of important capabilities. Our system is the first to provide the ability to not only verify that the IMB is produced to specifications but also to verify that the right code has been printed on the mailer. The FASTverify Postal Verification System is also one of the first systems with one button calibration and the capability to inspect every single piece of mail produced by today’s high-speed selective binding and co-mailing systems with full image archival capability.”

For more information on Cognex application solutions:

Related Customer Stories

Featured Cognex Products


Join MyCognex


Cognex representatives are available worldwide to support your vision and industrial barcode reading needs.

Contact Us