客户案例

獨立式視覺系統可檢測無標籤的罐頭,改善食品安全

Matrix digital rendering of can inspection using cognex camera

相關產品

2D Machine Vision Systems Insight 7000 and hand holding In-Sight 9000

In-Sight 視覺系統

精準又可靠地檢測、識別和引導元件

370 barcode reader held by hand

固定式讀碼器

具備視覺的讀碼器不僅簡單易用,而且成本等同於雷射掃描器

罐頭食品廠商通常會大量生產某種產品,例如蕃茄醬,然後將沒有上標籤的罐頭儲存在倉庫,等待客戶下訂單。這些罐頭會在出貨之前才貼上標籤,通常是客戶自有品牌標籤。罐頭以每 60 毫秒移動一罐的速度前進,因此,幾乎是不可能使用傳統的人工檢測方式。應用機器視覺來解決這個問題,唯一知道要做的是,使用連接到電腦板卡的攝影機。缺點是,特殊專用硬體的設計並不適用於工廠的作業環境。攝影機和板卡容易受到熱和粉塵的影響。設定和維護這類系統也需要擁有相當的專業技能,一般來說,在罐頭工廠可是找不到那樣的專業。

新方法

Matrix Technologies 利用視覺系統技術的最新進展,開發了更好的自動檢測方法。Matrix Technologies 部門經理 Les Haman 表示,「新方法的關鍵是,使用康耐視 In-Sight® 5600 視覺系統,以每小時 1000 件的速度在明亮罐頭背景中檢測產品碼。康耐視 PatMax® 圖案比對工具會檢測產品碼。此應用利用了 PatMax 工具的能力,來辨識圖案,不論其方位為何。這個應用不是掃讀個別文字,而是設定為只尋找符合三位數字產品碼的影像。只要將具有新產品碼的罐頭定位好,讓視覺系統進行檢視,然後將矩形框住產品碼,即可設定新產品碼。視覺系統會從這個點偵測產品碼,即使位置不同,或角度不同,只要在視野內,即可進行檢測。比起過去此應用所採用的機器視覺技術,這個方法簡單多了,也更健全、更經濟實惠。

Matrix Technologies 這個睿智的庫存標籤解決方案還納入了雷射掃描器,用於掃讀每個產品標籤上的條碼。光纖感測器藉由偵測突起的邊,可以識別沒有正確黏貼在罐頭上的標籤。

Matrix Technologies 目前正部署 10 套這款系統至公司的第一個客戶。Haman 總結指出,「在這些機器當中,有兩個已經啟動並執行,目前運作情況非常的好。睿智庫存標籤解決方案已印證,其具備提供精準檢測結果的能力,且幾乎不會導致停工。比對產品碼的影像已證實,這個方法比轉換影像為文字更可靠及穩健。目前工廠內的員工已經能夠維護設備,以及對程式進行設定以掃讀新產品碼,完全沒有任何困難。根據效能標準、標竿測試與使用者接受度,這個解決方案為食品與飲料業的睿智庫存檢測,提供了吸引人的價值。」

Related Customer Stories

康耐視特色產品

取得產品支援與訓練等等

加入 MyCognex

是否有任何疑问?

世界各地的康耐视代表可以随时为您提供支持,满足您的视觉和工业读码需求。

聯絡我們

• Call Cognex Sales: 855-4-COGNEX (855-426-4639)

  • Contact Us

Customer Stories

Self-Contained Vision System Inspects Unlabeled Cans to Improve Food Safety

Matrix Technologies

Related Products

In-Sight 5705

In-Sight Vision Systems

Easy to use, industrial-grade smart cameras with advanced machine vision technology.

Dataman 150/260 Series Optics

Fixed-mount Barcode Readers

Vision-enabled barcode readers with the ease-of-use and cost of laser scanners

Producers of canned foods typically make a large volume of a particular product, such as tomato soup, then store the cans in a warehouse without labels while waiting for orders from customers. The cans are labeled just before shipment, often with the customer’s private brand label. The cans go by at a speed of one every 60 milliseconds so conventional manual inspection is not possible. The only known effort at applying machine vision to this problem used a camera connected to a frame grabber board on a computer. Its weakness is that the specialized hardware is not designed for use in a factory environment. The cameras and frame grabber boards are susceptible to heat and dust. A considerable level of expertise is also required to set up and maintain this type of system, expertise that is typically not found in a canning plant.

A new approach

Matrix Technologies utilized recent advances in vision system technology to develop a better approach to brightfield automated inspection. “The key to the new approach is the use of the Cognex In-Sight® 5600 vision system to inspect the product codes against the bright can background at a speed of 1000 products per minute,” said Les Haman, Department Manager for Matrix Technologies. The Cognex PatMax® pattern matching tool inspects the product code. This application takes advantage of the ability of the PatMax tool to recognize a pattern regardless of its location. Rather than reading individual characters the application is configured to simply look for an image that matches the three-digit product code. A new product code can be configured simply by putting a can with the new code in position to be viewed by the vision system and positioning a rectangular box around the product code. From that point, the vision system will detect that product code even if it is in a different position or at a different angle as long as it is in the field of view. This approach is much simpler, more robust and more economical than the machine vision technology used on this application in the past.

Matrix Technologies’ bright stock labeling solution also includes a laser scanner that reads the barcode on the label of each product. A fiber optic sensor identifies labels that have not been properly glued to the can by detecting a protruding flap.

Matrix Technologies is in the process of deploying 10 of these systems to its initial customer. “Two of these machines are already up and running and they are working very well,” Haman concluded. “The bright stock labeling solutions have already proven their ability to provide accurate inspection results with virtually no downtime. Matching the images of the product codes has proven to be a much more reliable and robust solution than attempting to convert the images to characters. The existing plant personnel are able to maintain the equipment and program them to read new product codes without any difficulty. Based on performance criteria, benchmark testing, and user acceptance, this solution delivers an attractive value for bright stock inspection in the food and beverage industry.”

For more information on Cognex application solutions:

Related Customer Stories

Featured Cognex Products


Join MyCognex


Cognex representatives are available worldwide to support your vision and industrial barcode reading needs.

Contact Us